Total Pageviews

Thursday, 27 July 2017

2017 Ringo Awards Final Ballot Nominees Announced

Note : Emails to this distribution will be limited to Ringo Award ballot announcements and time frame requirements, and are not expected to exceed 8 email messages per year. Your inclusion on this list is a result of your creative contribution to the field of comics and sequential art creation, and we appreciate your participation. If you feel your address was added to this list erroneously, removal instructions are included at the bottom of this message. To update your preferred email address, please send a message with details to Please assist us in our efforts to maximize participation in the voting process by forwarding this message to your comic professional peers, who can request joining this distribution by emailing

2017 Ringo Awards Final Ballot Nominees Announced

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND - July 26, 2017 - The 2017 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards Nominees have been announced with the release of the final ballot. The awards are to be presented at the Ringo Awards Banquet and Ceremony in conjunction with the 2017 Baltimore Comic-Con on the evening of Saturday, September 23, 2017.
Voting on the 2017 Ringo Awards Final Ballot is now open, and is restricted to the comic book industry creative community -- anyone involved in and credited with creating comics professionally. Thank you to all pros who have already participated in our nomination process. Final ballots can be submitted via our website, and voting will close on August 16, 2017. We now present the inaugural Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards Final Ballot.
Fan and Pro Nomination Categories

* Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)
  • Daniel Clowes
  • Steve Conley
  • Hernandez Brothers
  • Aydin Anh Huynh (Snailords)
  • Kaitlyn Narvaza (instantmiso)
  • Skottie Young
* Best Writer
  • PJ Haarsma & Alan Tudyk
  • Jody Houser
  • Tom King
  • Robert Kirkman
  • Jeff Lemire
  • Alan Moore
  • Mark Waid
  • David Walker
  • Gerard Way
* Best Artist or Penciller
  • Kaare Andrews
  • Cliff Chiang
  • Rafael de Latorre
  • Mitch Gerards
  • Jason Johnson
  • Jason Latour
  • Dustin Nguyen
  • Fiona Staples
* Best Inker
  • Mark Brooks
  • Jeremy Freeman
  • Jonathan Glapion
  • Jason Latour
  • Jae Lee
  • Danny Miki
  • Sean Murphy
  • Victor Olazaba
* Best Letterer
  • Clayton Cowles
  • Taylor Esposito
  • Todd Klein
  • Troy Peteri
  • John Workman
* Best Colorist
  • Jordie Bellaire
  • Tamra Bonvillain
  • Elizabeth Breitweiser
  • Laura Martin
  • Rico Renzi
  • Sarah Stone
  • Matt Wilson
* Best Cover Artist
  • Frank Cho
  • Mike Del Mundo
  • JG Jones
  • Phil Noto
  • Ryan Sook
  • Fiona Staples
  • Sana Takeda
* Best Series
  • Faith, Valiant Entertainment
  • Paper Girls, Image Comics
  • Saga, Image Comics
  • Spectrum, Automatic Pictures
  • Vision, Marvel Comics
* Best Single Issue or Story
* Best Original Graphic Novel
  • Ghosts, Scholastic/Graphix
  • March: Book III, Top Shelf Productions
  • Patience, Daniel Clowes, Fantagraphics
  • Tetris: The Games People Play, First Second
  • Wonder Woman: The True Amazon, DC Comics
* Best Anthology
  • Dark Horse Presents, Dark Horse Comics
  • Island, Image Comics
  • Love is Love, DC Comics/IDW Publishing
  • (
  • Wonder Woman 75th Anniversary Special, DC Comics
* Best Humor Comic
  • Adventures of God, Line Webtoons
  • Blue Chair, Line Webtoons
  • Giant Days, BOOM! Studios
  • I Hate Fairyland, Image Comics
  • Jughead, Archie Comics
  • Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Marvel Comics
* Best Comic Strip or Panel
  • Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick
  • Dick Tracy, Joe Staton & Mike Curtis, Tribune Media Services
  • Foxtrot, Bill Amend, Universal Press Syndicate
  • Mutts, Patrick McDonnell, King Features Syndicate
  • Pearls Before Swine, Stephan Pastis, Universal Uclick
* Best Webcomic
* Best Non-fiction Comic Work
  • Cooking Comically (
  • Dark Night, A True Batman Story, DC Comics
  • March: Book Three, Top Shelf Productions
  • (
  • Rolling Blackouts, Drawn and Quarterly
  • Tetris: The Games People Play, First Second
* Best Presentation in Design
  • Aliens 30th Anniversary: The Original Comic Series, Dark Horse Comics
  • Al Williamson's Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back Artist Edition, IDW Publishing
  • Britannia, Valiant Entertainment
  • Legacy of Luther Strode, Image Comics
  • Mike Mignola's Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects: Artist's Edition Hardcover, IDW Publishing
  • Moebius Library: The World of Edena, Dark Horse Books
  • The ODY-C: Cycle One Hardcover, Image Comics
  • Spectrum, Automatic Pictures
The final ballot represents an aggregate of jury and fan top nominations. Congratulations to all of the nominees. Comic pros can click the button below to submit their votes.


Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView us on Instagram
About Mike Wieringo

Fantastic Four BCC Exclusive Cover
Michael Lance "Mike" Wieringo was known to fans and friends as "Ringo", which is how he signed his artwork. His comics artist graced the pages of DC Comics' The FlashAdventures of SupermanBatman, and Robin, Marvel Comics' Fantastic FourFriendly Neighborhood Spider-ManSensational Spider-Man, and Rogue, and his co-creation Tellos. He passed away on August 12, 2007 at the young age of 44 from an apparent heart attack.
About the Ringo Awards

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The Ringo Awards recognize outstanding achievements in over 20 categories, and are the only industry awards nominated by fans and pros alike, with final voting by the comic professional community. Launched in 2017, the awards ceremony is held annually at the Baltimore Comic-Con. Further details are available at
About the Baltimore Comic-Con

The Baltimore Comic-Con is celebrating its 18th year of bringing the comic book industry to the Baltimore and Washington D.C. area. For more information, please visit 

No comments:

Post a Comment